2017 Awards for the Marcus Program in Precision Medicine Innovation

George and Judy Marcus Awards

Funding Cycle Awardees Announced!

The Marcus Program in Precision Medicine Innovation is pleased to announce the results of the 2017 call for innovative collaborative project proposals for the Seeding Bold Ideas and Transformative Integrated Research Initiatives. We received a total of 42 excellent and potentially transformative trans-disciplinary research proposals from faculty across UCSF. 21 cross-disciplinary teams submitted proposals to the Seeding Bold Ideas (SBI) Initiative and 21 teams submitted to the Transformative Integrated Research (TIR) Initiative.

A committee of researchers representing basic, clinical, and social/behavioral sciences reviewed, discussed, and selected 7 SBI projects and 3 TIR projects for funding.

The awardees for the 2017 Seeding Bold Ideas (SBI) Initiative are:


Proposal Title

Chloe Atreya, MD/PhD

Jean-Philippe Coppe, PhD

Kevan Shokat, PhD

Kinome-guided Targeted Therapy: Targeting Pro-Inflammatory Cascades in Patient-derived BRAF (V600E) Colorectal Cancer Xenografts

Stephanie A. Christenson, MD/MAS

Charles Langelier, MD/PhD

Prescott G. Woodruff, MD/PhD

Host/Pathogen Metagenomic Deep Sequencing for Precision Diagnosis of Acute Exacerbations of COPD

Tien Peng, MD

Stephanie A. Christenson, MD/MAS

Prescott G. Woodruff, MD/PhD

Single-cell Discovery Approach for Targeted Regenerative Therapy in Emphysema

Neil Shah, MD/PhD

Joseph DeRisi, PhD

Margaret Fang, MD

Ophir Klein, MD/PhD

Art Weiss, MD/PhD

The Molecular Medicine Consult Service: Bringing a Multidisciplinary Approach to Patients with Undiagnosed and Rare Diseases

Dean Sheppard, MD

Wendell Lim, PhD

Engineering Lymphocytes to Treat Tissue Fibrosis

Anthony Shum, MD

Scott Oakes, MD

Michael Waterfield, MD/PhD

Targeting ER Stress and the Unfolded Protein Response as Treatment for the COPA Syndrome

E. Alejandro Sweet-Cordero, MD

Jonathan Weissman, PhD

Enabling Functional Genomics and Precision Medicine in Pediatric Sarcomas Using Patient-derived Xenografts and Multiplexed Single-cell CRISPRi Screening

The awardees for the 2017 Transformative Integrated Research (TIR) Initiative are:


Proposal Title

Charles Chiu, MD/PhD

Steve Miller, MD/PhD

Precision Diagnosis of Acute Infectious Diseases

Raymond Swanson, MD

Caroline Tanner, MD/PhD

Steven Finkbeiner, MD/PhD

Toward a Redox-Directed Therapy for Parkinson’s Disease: Integrating Environmental, Genomic, and Functional Data

Michael R. Wilson, MD/MAS

Joseph DeRisi, PhD

Samuel J. Pleasure, MD/PhD

Precision Diagnosis of Autoantibody Mediated Encephalitis